Haskell 101

January 25, 2008

Welcome to Haskell 101

Filed under: Functional programming, Haskell, List comprehensions, Pattern matching, Ruby — Haskell 101 blogger @ 4:32 am

Welcome to Haskell 101, a blog where I will walk through my own learnings with the functional programming language known as Haskell. How did I decide to do this? Well, I like to program as a hobby. Of all the languages that I have programmed in (Java, PHP, Visual Basic, and Ruby), Ruby is by far the one I enjoy most. I started to read about the roots of the Ruby programming language and learned of its functional programming roots. I then started looking into the various functional programming languages out there (especially Erlang, Haskell, and Lisp). The one that for some reason drew most of my attention was Haskell. I love the concept of pattern matching, which is not related much at all to regular expressions, by the way. I also like the elegance of list comprehensions, which feel much like the power and succinctness of some Ruby structures, like

self.collect{|x|x.send(attr)}.uniq.sort

Welcome aboard!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

